dacount2That’s right, today is the first day of Spring, although in Fresno we’ve been in the 70’s for a little while now. It’s the perfect time of year, not too hot, not too cold and the sun just starts to set around 7:30. It’s so nice. With the weather getting nicer and the days lasting longer there’s only one thing that comes to mind.

BBQ!

Yup, it’s BBQ season! Halo and I have started on a let’s cook at home kick with suggestions from allrecipies.com and last night’s first round with the grill. We went shopping for food stuffs and decided that last night we’d crack that cast iron fire breather open and offer up some honey mustard chicken to the BBQ gods. And let me tell you… it was BOMB! Ok… I know the slang is retro now, but dang it was some tasty bites! Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/3 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon steak sauce
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

I couldn’t find the steak sauce so I substituted with honey BBQ sauce and it was great! Also I doubled the recipe because I love to have extra sauce. Halo was outside with Dr. Dave scrubbing down the grill and oiling it while I was inside making the sauce. I set the chicken in the goop and placed in the fridge until the grill was ready. You cook it for about 20 minutes and baste during the last 10.

The chicken was super juicy and we chose a chicken rice side to go along with it. Yum!

There’s nothing like the smell of BBQ, the taste is just right and it’s a summer staple in this area. You really can’t go anywhere on a Saturday afternoon without smelling someone cooking something on the Que.

I remembered to take a picture after the chicken was on the grill:

hmchickTonight we’re attempting some bacon wrapped hamburgers! I’ve been salivating over them for weeks and we’re gonna try them tonight! wish us luck!

Happy Friday and Happy Da Count!

