boleyninheritanceand yesterday I finished The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory. She wrote The Other Boleyn Girl which I enjoyed and this story follows Anne of Cleves (Henry VIII’s 4th wife), Jane Boleyn (George Boleyn’s widow and villan of the story) and Katherine Howard (Henry VIII’s 5th wife). Each chapter is told from one of these three womens’ perspectives and it’s very interesting. Jane Boleyn was in The Other Boleyn Girl and the difference in portrayal is interesting but it all comes together in the end. The book covers quite a length of time, including the marriage and annullment of Anne of Cleves, the political panderings of the Duke of Norfolk and the marriage and execution of Katherine Howard. The last chapter is 5 years after, noting Henry VIII’s death.

I really love the time period and the Tutor rule in England. I’m fascinated by Elizabeth I and what lead up to her reign. I don’t know a lot about Mary I but I’m sure I’ll read up on her sometime soon. Gregory is a great author because she write historical fiction. I know everything I’m reading is based on history but embellished. During certain parts of the book I’d google one of the characters in the book and saw what was historical and what was fiction. It’s much better than reading  a boring old history book.

Up next on the Books to read list:

watchmen-coverI’ve heard from those that have seen the movie that it’s much more enjoyable for those that know what’s going on… but even if you haven’t read the book it was entertaining for 3 hours. I’ll let you know what I think once I’m done.

