I’m almost disgusted by the movie preview I saw last night which in an unusual night I watched tv. The movie “W” is, in my opinion, Hollywood’s attempt to sway the election. I mean, why else would the movie be released at this time? Regardless of your political stance, this is not a fight for politics, the mockery and farce politics has become in the last 4 years really is disturbing to me. Halo and I watched the movie preview and I was stunned and he responded “How embarrassing”… and it is! Hollywood has built up this image, this clout and are heavy weights in society on an international level. I’m not saying that they are wrong for making the movie or putting it out, but what really rubs me the wrong way is that they (Hollywood) are politicking. Sure it says in the news article I linked to that there’s an “evenhanded tone” to the movie… but still. Put the movie out in December. It’s like watching a football or baseball game and seeing the referee or umpire intentionally sway calls to decide the game (regardless of what is fair)… that completely pisses me off.

I don’t know, I think it’s the job of Art to imitate Life and evoke feelings, so in that sense this movie does a good job, but when Art directly sways the mindless viewers into their will, is that truly democracy? How is the aping of those actors’ voices really a good representation of what “the people” want? The idea brings me to the argument I got into with some friends a while back. Is it smart to vote blind or to abstain your voice and not vote because you’re unknowledgeable? My preference is that my vote, my voice goes to something I personally believe in. (Although it doesn’t matter in the least with the Presidential Election seeing as the popular vote does not always get someone into the Oval Office) Celebrities are out there pushing “Rock the Vote” and other campaigns and I never thought I would say this, but Paris Hilton was right… it is more important that a voter is knowledgeable about the issues at hand versus just voting for the sake of wearing a sticker on your shirt and saying “I voted.” Seriously, a monkey could vote if you put a machine in front of it. And that’s, I think, what it comes down to. I am not a monkey mindlessly casting my vote. I’ve researched the issues and I will know what each proposition is saying before I cast my vote. I vote because it’s my voice being represented and I know I am not spewing out someone else’s thoughts or opinions.

It is truly sad that there’s an international joke going around the world and the punchline is the United States. Maybe this movie is what some of us need to stand up and change the Nation. Maybe it’s just going to make us look even more unintelligent as a democratic nation. It’s sad nonetheless.

Tonight starts week 2 of Fright Night and I’m not sure if I’ll be acting or managing. I guess it just depends on the crew we have and the tone of the evening. There’s laundry to do and sleep to be made up. I’m planning a trip with Halo after this is all done and before I vacation in Washington for Thanksgiving. What a crazy ride this train turned out to be!

