…everyone has them and most of them stink.

I don’t know how many times I’ve actually uttered that statement, but it seems to be the catch phrase of the moment. With the review at the BeeHive there’s been quite a lot of conversation about our little production of the show. It seems that everyone (well not everyone because we’ve had about 2,500 audience members) wants their voice heard. There’s banter about the cattiness of theatre folk in Fresno, the show, lighting, sound issues, the set… blah blah blah. Bottom line, people want to talk.

As an actor in the show I cannot be a part of the banter because, of course, I am biased. I was party to the everyday struggles that the audience didn’t see. I know what I’ll say on the Internet, in print versus what I’d tell my friends in confidence. And not everything is as it seems… but isn’t that always the way it goes? It’s called self-preservation. It’s called good PR skills. It’s called ‘what people don’t know won’t hurt them.’ And as an actor I can read the criticism and realize that the majority of those commenting have NO idea what they are talking about. Sure, if they ready Fresnocentric and what I posted there about the show then they would have a clue about the trials and tribulations but I still left details out of those postings as well.

I find it humorous. I find the banter more dramatic than what’s going on on stage. I’m thankful my performance is not getting criticised, but hey, if it does, it’s one person’s opinion. If I believe my good press I have to believe my bad press, right?

