I know it’s been a while since I’ve written… and I’m probably not going to be back on blog-o-sphere until Monday… but I can tell about the week events that have had my mind hostage!

This is the Fright Night Scream Park employee schedule. We are mounting a brand new Haunted House attraction that isn’t exactly a haunted house. It’s really cool. I’m having a blast being a part of the group. Monday night and Wednesday night I was the Acting Coach for those that showed up. It was great! We warmed up, played some games and talked character. I really think those that came out had a good time. We laughed and goofed off. If you’re an actor type OR you just like to scare people, come on out and join in the fun! We’re going to have a blast all the way up until October! It’s been a little daunting in that I’ve never actually taught acting before. I’ve taken classes and watched actors do their thing… but I’ve never taught it. When I’ve explained that to people they are surprised. This is very cool! I want people to know that I know what I am doing… even if I’m acting my way through it! Hahaha! The exercises we went through and the games we are playing have been a lot of fun and there’s a reason behind all of them. It’s cool. 🙂

 

Oh and the Bard! This week the review came out…. and… HE LIKED ME! HE REALLY LIKED ME!!!!!! Ok. Now I’m a big advocate of understanding that one person’s opinion does not make or break a performance. But this reviewer has not been to keen to my performances of late. Well… I know a few people that have thought that I am just falling short of my potential. Maybe it’s because I’m playing a certain type of role all the time. Maybe it’s because the majority of my costumes have been skimpy. Regardless, playing this role in particular has been really taxing. I have had to work really hard to get Feste where he is not… and I AM PLAYING A MAN! If that isn’t “against type” I don’t know what is! I guess what I am saying is that it’s nice to have the validation from the press reviewer especially in a role I’ve worked really hard to evolve. If you haven’t seen the show, please come out and see it… if you have seen it… please come out and see it again! 🙂

 

With those two events, life’s been pretty crazy. We’re starting to gear up for the SF Fringe, Marcel is in re-write mode, Dave is chomping at the bit to get started in this particular production and I am really looking forward to revisiting Ms. White. I’ve missed her.

Since I won’t be blogging tomorrow I’ll throw in a special 4th of July Da Count! 🙂 There is SO much for me to count this week. The Scream Team, the good review for Twelfth Night, that fact that the show even opened, the wonderful time I spent with Mommy, good friends that are amazingly supportive of whatever crazy venture I am doing… but when it comes down to it, I have to Count him.

He’s been absolutely wonderful the past month. So patient and understanding. Willing to go through the crazy social life of an actor opening a show. I think back to how I had planned my life to be and I have no regrets. I am where I am supposed to be. In theater, when you are seeing someone that is not in theater, there is no larger test than going through the run of a show. The late night rehearsals, the show itself, the after hours key downs and pre-show warm ups… it’s hard to work through. I Count the communication he is willing to have with me. we talk all the time and it’s very honest and wonderful. I Count his patience with me because without it I wouldn’t be sane. I Count that he came out to Opening Night… that’s bigger than words can express. I Count the calm I feel when I am around him. I Count him because he is wonderful.

To all my blogger pals out there, have a safe and happy 4th!!!

Ciao!

