and maybe that’s ok. Maybe I’m not invested enough. I completely see this as my short coming, but seriously?? This political soap opera that’s called Decision ’08 is mind boggling. I don’t want to vote for the lesser of the evils. I don’t want to vote for someone that talks a good talk and walks a good walk only to gain office and sit on their ass and do nothing. I think the political climate in this country MUST change if we want any type of progress at all.

Sure, I’m not happy about the war, but an immediate with drawl would do more harm than good; I think of it like a stab wound, pull the knife out quickly and all at once and you can cause more bleeding and damage to the wound, pull the knife out slowly and there is less damage. But at least Start pulling the knife out, start the healing process…

I have stayed away from this topic particularly because it is a hot button issue. People get heated about politics, I used to be one of them. Debating up and down California and competing on the national level, I used to eat, breathe, sleep politics and what was going on in the world. I had really strong beliefs in what was right and how the country could turn itself around. Life was a debate round and I was willing to die for the TKO. And I woke up one morning and realized I was miserable and my heart was bleeding out fast. So I’m a little weary of the subject.

But it’s a news article about Michael Moore’s endorsement that bothers me. It quotes Moore in saying: “My endorsement is more for Obama The Movement than it is for Obama the candidate.” Now is it just me, or is there something extremely wrong with that statement? Maybe this is a new idea that is radical enough to actually work. It’s not the leader of the country that’s important, it’s the movement. Sure, I can see that, but there’s things about this particular leader’s movement that confuses me. I want to understand. I want to know what the big deal is. I read the political platforms of the 3 major candidates and there’s red flags all over the place.

So, I want to know… if you’re willing to talk to me, not bash me over the head with political jargon and campaign catch phrases, and explain to me your reasons for voting for a particular candidate, I’d be thankful. I don’t want to debate. I just want the reasons why people are throwing their voice and vote behind a particular candidate. I understand this is a private thing, so email me (solitarehnt@gmail.com) and we can chat.

I want to understand. I want to be an informed voter that understands the issues and can see through the mud slinging, false campaign promises and over all bullshit. Can you help me?

